Youtube Instagram
News > Ehf
MEDIA INFORMATION: Women's EHF EURO 2018 Qualification Draw

PARIS, April 20, 2017 - The EHF has provided, in a nutshell, the most important facts for media for the Women's EHF EURO 2018 Qualification Draw on 21 April 2017 in Paris.

Time & location? The draw starts at 12:30 hrs. It takes place at the French National Olympic Committee in Paris.

Where can I watch it? The draw will be streamed live on EHF EURO YouTube channel,, and the EHF EURO Facebook page,

How many teams participate in the qualification? There are 28 teams participating which will be drawn to seven groups of four teams each.

And who are these teams? In alphabetical order: Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, FYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Winner Qualification Phase 1 Gr. A, Winner Qualification Phase 1 Gr. B

What do the pots look like? Pot 1: Norway, Netherlands, Romania, Denmark, Sweden, Spain, Montenegro Pot 2: Russia, Germany, Poland, Hungary, Serbia, Czech Republic, Croatia Pot 3: Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine, Austria, Belarus, Turkey, FYR Macedonia Pot 4: Italy, Iceland, Lithuania, Portugal, Switzerland, Winner Q 1 Gr. A, Winner Q 1 Gr. B

What about these winners from Qualification Phase 1? Who are they? The first qualification phase will be played from 9 to 11 June 2017. Finland, Faroe Islands and Greece were drawn to Group A, Israel, Kosovo and Georgia to Group B. Only the winner of each group advances to the second, the main qualification phase.

When is the second qualification phase played? Rounds 1 & 2: Wednesday 27 September to Sunday 1 October 2017 Rounds 3 & 4: Wednesday 21 to Sunday 25 March 2018 Rounds 5 & 6: Wednesday 30 May to Sunday 3 June 2018

And who qualifies eventually? The top two teams of each of the seven groups will qualify for the final tournament. Furthermore, the best third ranked team overall qualifies.

How is that best third ranked team determined? To determine the best third ranked team only the matches against the teams ranked first and second are taken into account.

That makes 15 teams that qualify. Who is the 16th team? France as the organisers of the Women's EHF EURO 2018 are the only that is already qualified for the 16-nation tournament.

When and where is the Women's EHF EURO 2018 being played? The Women's EHF EURO 2018 is played from 30 November to 16 December in France. The host cities are Nancy, Nantes, Montbéliard, Brest and Paris. The French capital will host the final weekend.

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness