Youtube Instagram
Match officials announced for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup

Referee Mark Geiger gives a red card to Luis Tejada #10 of Panama while Francisco Rodriguez #2 of Mexico lays on the field and Diego Reyes #5 of Mexico reacts during the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup semifinal match at Georgia Dome on July 22, 2015 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images)

MIAMI, June 22, 2017 - The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced the referee designations for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, featuring 17 experienced match officials from 10 countries within the region.

For the first time in the tournament history, all match officials will be stationed at a referee headquarters in Dallas, Texas, and travel to assigned games across the United States

These elite match officials were required to pass several assessments including the FIFA World Cup Candidate Fitness test, so that they could potentially be considered for an appointment to CONCACAF’s most important competition. The tournament will be played from July 7-26, 2017 in 14 stadiums in 13 metropolitan areas across the United States.

“CONCACAF has selected top-class referees to officiate at the Confederation’s premier championship. These officials have undergone strenuous preparation and vetting as our commitment is to ensure consistent high-quality performance on the field,” said CONCACAF Director of Refereeing, Brian Hall. “For the 14th edition of Gold Cup, officials will be based in Dallas in an effort to maximize the training and flow of crucial information to enhance game management.”

The CONCACAF Referee Committee approved the list of participants, who were reviewed and selected by the CONCACAF Referee Technical Advisory Team, a cross regional group of refereeing experts. This team includes 60 participants, 17 referees, 25 assistant referees, six assessors and 12 members of the Targeted Advanced Referee Program (TARP). TARP referees are part of the development strategy of the Confederation to provide an opportunity of working with elite officials in order to prepare them for future competitions. Game assignments will be announced prior to each match.

Taking place every two years, the CONCACAF Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the region, which includes North and Central America and the Caribbean, and will be broadcast in the United States on the FOX and Univision family of networks.

To view and download the complete 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup schedule, visit this link. Tickets to all Gold Cup matches are available by visiting

2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Referees

*Listed in alphabetical order


Joel Aguilar (SLV); Henry Bejarano (CRC); Drew Fischer (CAN); Roberto Garcia (MEX); Mark Geiger (USA); Fernando Guerrero (MEX); Walter Lopez (GUA); Jair Marrufo (USA); Yadel Martinez (CUB); Melvin Matamoros (HON); Oscar Moncada (HON); Ricardo Montero (CRC); John Pitti (PAN); Cesar Ramos (MEX); Hector Rodriguez (HON); Armando Villarreal (USA); Kimbell Ward (SKN)


Frank Anderson (USA); Joseph Bertrand (TRI); Graeme Browne (SKN); Ronald Bruna (PAN); Jose Luis Camargo (MEX); Keytzel Corrales (NCA); Melvyn Cruz (HON); Carlos Fernandez (CRC); Geonvany Garcia (SLV); Miguel Hernandez (MEX); Hermenerito Leal (GUA); Gerson Lopez (GUA); Juan Carlos Mora (CRC); Charles Morgante (USA); Alberto Morin (MEX); Marcos Quintero (MEX); Christian Ramirez (HON); Ainsley Rochard (TRI); Corey Rockwell (USA); Jesus Tabora (HON); Marvin Torrentera (MEX); William Torres (SLV); Gabriel Victoria (PAN); Daniel Williamson (PAN); Juan Francisco Zumba (SLV)


Juan Gabriel Calderon (CRC); Ismael Cornejo (SLV); Ismail Elfath (USA); Rodphin Harris (TRI); Gladwyn Johnson (GUY); Jose Kellys (PAN); Bryan Lopez (GUA); Hector Said Martinez (HON); Daneon Parchment (JAM); Michel Rodriguez Rogue (CUB); Ariel Ameth Sanchez (PAN)


Carlos Gonzalez (MEX); Ronald Gutierrez (CRC); Dave Meikle (JAM); Roberto Moreno (PAN); John Nielsen (CAN); Victor Stewart (JAM)

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness