Youtube Instagram
CAF names final shortlist for 2017 African Player Of The Year

by Sammy Heywood Okine, SWAG
ACCRA, December 19, 2017 - The Confederations of Africa Football (CAF) on Monday announced the final three players who will vie for the 2017 African Player of the Year award.

The three players are Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and B Dortmund), Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool) and Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool) who were part of an initial 30-man shortlist which was trimmed to 11 players.

The final phase of this shortlist was determined by votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF and Associate Members, Reunion Island and Zanzibar, together with the other half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons) was be counted towards the determination of the eventual winners.

Liverpool’s Mohammed Salah who recently won the 2017 BBC African Footballer of the Year, stand out as favourite to clinch the coveted title.

The winner of the award will be named at the first AITEO CAF awards 2017 ceremony be held at the International Conference Center in Accra on 4th January 2018.

Nigerian energy giants, Aiteo, are the headline sponsors of next year’s edition that will see players, officials and administrators who distinguished themselves exemplary during the year under review being honoured for their efforts towards the development of the game on the continent.

African Player of the Year
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Women’s National Team of the Year
Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)
L'Hussein Amoutta

National Team of the Year


Club of the Year
Al Ahly
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Referee of the Year

Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)
Ghead Grisha (Egypt)
Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)
Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)
News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness