Youtube Instagram
Yannis Theodorakopoulos wins re-election as president of the Greek Sport Journalists Association

Yannis Theodorakopoulos was a member of the Executive Committee of AIPS Europe. (Photo by Yannis Theodorakopoulos)

Athens, April 17, 2018 - Last March, Yannis Theodorakopoulos was elected president of the Greek Sport Journalists Association (PSAT) for a new three-year term (2018-21). He previously served as the president of PSAT for fourteen years (1992-2006) and he is no a stranger to his fellow Greek sports journalists. He enjoys widespread popularity and running unopposed he gained 87% of votes to return to his post.

Hard work - “The only thing I would like to promise is that I will work hard along with my colleagues to meet expectations and to serve sports journalists, in tough times for sports media,” said Theodorakopoulos.

A Mixed Zone legacy - A former AIPS Vice President (2001-05 and 2005-09), a member of the Executive Committee of AIPS Europe for eight years and ex-Chairman of the AIPS Athletics Commission, Theodorakopoulos has left his mark in both the national and international sports scene. He has been awarded the respective AIPS’ top media prize of the year four times. Most of all, Theodorakopoulos’ legacy has been to establish the “mixed zone” at all team sports on a global scale.

The Olympic Order - He was also a member of the Council of the International Olympic Academy as well as member of the International Olympic Torch Relay. Theodorakopoulos “Olympic Order”, the highest award of the Olympic Movement, which is awarded for particularly distinguished contributions to the Olympic Movement.

A new board - During the elections, held on March 19, 2018, the Greek Sports Journalists Association chose a new board. Mr. Yannis Theodorakopoulos was reelected as president of the Association for the period 2018-2021.

The Council is as follows:

President: Yannis Theodorakopoulos

First Vice President: Fontas Hitas

Second Vice President: Christina Amerikanou

Secretary General: Dimos Bouloukos

Treasurer: Yannis Korakis

Members: Fanis Skiftas, Antonis Papoutsakis, Antonis Katsaros, Manos Staramopoulos, Aspasia Velonaki, Angelica Visika, Dimitris Kanellakis, Kostas Toutsidis.

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness