logo 90 anni
aipsmedia appstore ipad
aipsmedia appstore android
Bookmark and Share
President Gianni Merlo re-elected AIPS President
AIPS President Gianni Merlo after he was voted unopposed.(Photo by Egor Aleev)
By Natalia Donets, AIPS Young Reporter - Moldova
SOCHI, April 17, 2013 - President Gianni Merlo, unopposed for the position of AIPS chief, was unanimously reelected at the congress. The latest 4 year office term became the third for Merlo. Esat Yilmaer of Turkey, remained in the position of the First Vice-President. 

The President Sports Media Austria Michael Kuhn will join the Executive as the AIPS treasurer.

A number of candidates have contested the positions of the Vice-President and members of the board.

As the result of the voting, Laima Janusonyte-Steinhoff(Lithuania), Nickolai Dolgopolov(Russia), Mohammad Al Malki(Qatar) and Haifeng Zhang(China), who were also part of the previous executive were named Vice-Presidents. 

The voting procedure, where 52 countries represented the majority, took place electronically. In total, 103 countries took part in the voting procedure.

Gianni Merlo (Italy)(Unopposed)

1st Vice President
Esat Yilmaer( Turkey)(Unopposed)

Michael Kuhn(Austria) 67
Manoucher Zandi (Iran) 31 

Vice Presidents(4)
Nikolai Dolgopolov (Russsia) 93
Zhang Haifeng (China) 88
Al Malki Mohammed (Qatar) 81
Laima Janusonyte-Steinhiff (Lithuania) 80
Manoucher Zandi (Iran) 38 

Evelyn Watta(Kenya) 85 
Dobor Deszo (Hungary) 77 
Vicente Dattoli(Brazil) 77 
Hiroshi Takeuchi(Japan) 76 
Emanuel Fantaneanu(Romania) 75 
Hee Don Jung(Korea) 71 
Jean Paul Savart(France) 69 
Jalal Bouzrara(Morocco) 69
Ernesto Ortiz Gomez(Uruguay) 65 
Barry Newcombe(Great Britain) 56
Bin Hussain Abdulla Ibrahim(UAE) 54 
Jura Ozmec(Croatia) 52 
Montesinos Delvaty (Cuba) 51 
Zidar Joze (Slovenia) 50
Maurice Loiseau(Belgium) 49 
Jerzy Jakobsche(Poland) 48
Alan Abrahmson(USA) 45
Otgonbaatar Chultem(Mongolia) 44
Malik Amjad Aziz(Pakistan) 38
Mahmudzade Nargiz(Azerbaijan) 37 
Raul Salguero (Mexico) 34

Second round members voting

Malik Amjad Aziz(Pakistan) 25 
Montesinos Delvaty E(Cuba) 19 
Otgonbaatar Chultem(Mongolia)  11
Maurice Loiseau 11
Jerzy Jakobsche(Poland) 11
Alan Abrahamson(USA) 10
Zidar Joze (Slovenia) 6 
Mahmudzade Nargiz(Azerbaijan) 6

The first 12 attained the required 50+1 majority.

Video GalleryView all
Continental Sections 
aips asia
aips america
aips europe
Flash Sport World NewsView all
Ranieri asks stars for 'one year more'
5/5/16 03:53 - BBC Sport
Chelsea star Willian blames Tottenham for Monday night's "violent" Stamford Bridge clash
5/5/16 03:50 - Daily Mirror
"Wir sind nicht erwünscht"
5/5/16 03:48 - Süddeutsche
Watch Arsenal fan try to troll Jan Vertonghen over Tottenham's failed title bid
5/5/16 03:43 - Daily Mirror
Lanka IOC to sponsor Sri Lanka A team
5/5/16 03:34 - Cricinfo
Barcelona target Kevin Gameiro and Lucas Perez as they search for attacking reinforcements
5/5/16 03:34 - Daily Mirror
Claudio Ranieri warns Leicester's key players against leaving the champions this summer
5/5/16 03:32 - Daily Mirror
Ranieri: "E non finisce qui... Rinforzi? No ai grandi nomi"
5/5/16 03:20 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Move Over Warriors, Cavs Can Shoot 3s Too.
5/5/16 03:06 - New York Times
Quand tombent les jours fériés ?
5/5/16 03:02 - Le Monde
Full transcript of Claudio Ranieri's first press conference as a Premier League champion
5/5/16 02:59 - Daily Mirror
È Bocelli il regalo di Ranieri Canterà prima dell'Everton
5/5/16 02:55 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Path to the Champions League final: How Real Madrid and Atletico got to Milan
5/5/16 02:47 - Daily Mirror
Every 2016 Kentucky Derby horse name, ranked
5/5/16 02:43 - USA Today
Corey Perry to captain Canada at world hockey championships
5/5/16 02:36 - Toronto Sun
Sports Briefing | Golf: Oscar De La Hoya Says Donald Trump Cheated at Golf
5/5/16 02:34 - New York Times
Crystal Palace winger Wilfried Zaha a fitness doubt for FA Cup final against Manchester United
5/5/16 02:32 - Daily Mirror
Sorpresa Chirico in semi Murray ai quarti di Madrid
5/5/16 02:29 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Murray reaches quarter-finals in Madrid
5/5/16 02:25 - BBC Sport
Red Bull move for Verstappen was always likely
5/5/16 02:18 - Reuters
The Ethics 'Iron Lady' of the Olympics

Read more
AIPS Partners 
International Olympic Committe
Fédération Internationale de Football Association
International Association of Athletics Federations
Federation Internationale de Natation
International Basketball Federation
International Ski Federation
Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
Federation International Amateur de Sambo
United World Wrestling
International Handball Federation
European Handball Federation
Copyright 2008 AIPS MEDIA | Privacy PolicyWeb Design: Studio Colore