Youtube Instagram
Host Poland dominates 14th WUC rowing medal podium

Photo/ FISU
POZNAN, September 5, 2016 Ė On Sunday the 14th World University Rowing Championship on the Malta Regatta course in Poznan came to an end. The medallists of 15 categories have been decorated with medals. Host team Poland end first in the team medal classification with 9 medals, including one gold, six silver and two bronze medals. Italy ended second and Czech Republic third.

Sundayís session was initiated with mix quadruple sculls Ė a competition that has been organised for the first time in the history of this WUC. This inaugural race was won by the Czech crew (Kristyna Fleisnnerova, Lenka Antosova, Adam Sterbak and Matyas Klang) who beat the Polish hosts (Marta Wieliczko, Katarzyna Wełna, Maciej Zawojski, Szymon Płośnik). Bronze went to France (Chloe Poumailloux, Flavie Bahuaud, Bastien Quiqueret, and Hugo Quemener).

In the B Finals, Poland was represented by two crews. Syliwa Zimnicka has firmly won the B final of lightweight womenís single sculls, Michał Baran and Mateusz Drab were 5th in the B final lightweight menís double sculls.

In the grand final for lightweight womenís sculls Australian Amy James was medalled with gold. After a fantastic finish the silver medal was won by Austrian Anja Manoutschehr, with bronze going to Canadian Patricia Mara.

The title of World University Rowing Champion in lightweight menís sculls has been claimed by Federico Gherzi. The silver medal went to former Summer Universiade Champion (2015) Jerzy Kowalski (POL). Hungarian, Daniel Matyasovszki got the bronze.

In the final of lightweight Menís double sculls German crew Johannes Ursprung and Cedric Kulbach, rowed to 1st place, followed by Slovaks Peter Zelinka and Richard Vanco, leaving bronze for French crew Francois Teroin and Luke Epain.

Unfortunately, the challenge of defending their world title has become a failure for Martyna Mikołajczak and Monika Kowalska in lightweight womenís double sculls. The Polish crew were placed 4th. Italians Federica Cesarini and Valentina Rodini secured the championship. Silver medal went to Russians Anastasija Lebedeva and Anastasiia Ianina while Germans Kathrin Morbe and Katrin Thoma finished 3rd.

In the race of the lightweight menís quadruple, the Polish crew (Remigiusz Biernacki, Dawid Kamiński, Łukasz Stasiewicz and Rafał Nalewalski) was unbeatable and secured the gold. Silver medal went to the Italian crew (Pietro Cappelli, Emanuele Giacosa, Giovanni Ficara, Alberto Seyssel díAix), the French team (Etienne Girerd, Benoit Robin, Augustin Mouterde, Alexis Guertinot) finished in the third place.

In the menís double, the victory was claimed by Rio de Janeiro Olympians Jakub Podrazil and Lukas Helesic (CZE). Silver medals went to New Zealanders Corey McCaffrey and Louis van Velthooven. Bronze went to Australians Angus Moore and Nathan Bowden.

A close battle took place in the womenís double were the Polish and Italian teams raced for the gold. 200m before the finish line, Ludovica Serafini and Carmela Pappalardo (ITA) rowed away from Anna Wierzbowska and Maria Wierzobowska (POL) to pocket the gold. Both teams were followed by British Anastasia Chitty and Samantha Courty.

In the menís quadruple, the gold medal went to the British team (Oliver Knight, William Warr, Thomas Ford, Morgan Hellen). They were followed by the Italians (Luca Lovisolo, Jacopo Mancini, Davide Mumolo, Stefano Morganti), while the bronze medal went to the Polish crew (Patryk Przekopski, Michał Szpakowski, Robert Fuchs, Mateusz Wilangowski).

In the womenís quadruple the Germans (Clara Redetzki, Friederike Reissig, Charlotte Reinhardt, Conastanze Duell) took the gold. Silver went to Cecilia Bellati, Benedetta Bellio, Stefania Gobbi, Kimi English Hawke. The third crew to cross the finish line were the British rowers Rebecca Edwards, Annie Withers, Catherine Sheehan and Gillian Cooper.

The womenís singles World University Champion title went to German Julia Leiding, who was ahead of Austrian Lisa Farthofer and Irish Monika Dukarska.

The menís single final was dominated by this yearís junior World Champion Michal Plocek (CZE). Dominik Czaja won another medal for Poland Maximilian Fraenkel secured third place.

The medal rivalry in the womenís double sculls was won by Czechs Lenka Antosova and Kristyna Fleissnerova. The silver medal was taken by Olga Michałkiewicz and Katarzyna Zillmann (POL). Bronze went to Rosa Bas and Roos De Jong (NED).

In menís double sculls the world champion title went to Germans Timo Piontek and Stephan Krueger. The Polish crew (Dawid Grabowski and Adam Wicenciak) ended second. Third place was claimed by Czechs Adam Sterbak and Matyas Klang.

In the menís eight race, the first place was secured by the British rowers. Second place was taken by the French. The podium was completed with the Polish crew.

The next edition (15th) of the World University Rowing Championship will be held in Mar del Plata (ARG) in 2018.

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness