Youtube Instagram
Blitz of stars attend KOOL-BSPA Sports Awards in Bangladesh

Mustafizur Rahman accepts and Mahfuza Khatun Shila accept awards for Best Athlete of 2016 and 2015 from Finance Minister of the Peoples Republic of Bangladesh Abul Maal Abdul Muhith
by Rejwan uz Zaman, General Secretary Bangladesh Sports Press Association

DHAKA, February 2, 2017 The Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) organized the KOOL-BSPA Sports Award 2017. The awards were held at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel on Monday, January30, 2017. In this program BSPA recognized players, organizers, coaches, sponsors and others involved in sport. The award is the oldest in Bangladesh, having been first established in1964. It still continues to be the prime award in the country.

Bangladesh cricket team bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman and 12th SA Games gold medalist swimmer Mahfuza Khatun Shila were named Kool-BSPA Player of the Year for 2015 and 2016 respectively.

Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith MP handed over prizes to the winners. Bangladesh Football Federation President (BFF) President Kazi Salahuddin, Secretary General of Bangladesh Olympic Association Syed Shahed Reza, Vice president of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Mahbub Anam, and Vice president of Bangladesh Football Federation Salam Murshedi, Badal Roy were also present at the function.

International Sports Press Association (AIPS) Asia president Mohammed Qasem, Malik Mohammed Saeed, Head of Marketing Square Toiletries Limited and Mustafa Mamun, President of BSPA was also present as special guests.

Im happy to get the award in such a platform, said Mustafiz, who later won the KOOL-BSPA Popular Choice award after getting highest votes from the followers. I would like to thank BSPA for giving me such an award which would inspire me to perform better in the future. In the year 2016 Shila was ahead the dashing Tigers' opener Tamim Iqbal and hockey player Ashraful Islam to earn honour for the year of 2016.

The programme was also a get-together for the current and former players and organizers as top officials of different sports federation were present in the occasion. A total of 20 sport personalities and organizations received awards for their contributions in different sports in the past two years.

The remaining award recipients for the year 2015 : Mahmudullah (cricket), Fahad Rahman (chess), Tamimul Islam (archery), Sarwar Zaman Nipu (football, emerging sportsman) Yousuf Ali (hockey organiser), Syed Golam Jilani (football, coach), Aminul Haq Moni, (cricket organiser, special honorary award) and Max Group (sponsor).

The remaining recipients for the year 2016 are: Tamim Iqbal (cricket), Mabia Akther Simanta (weightlifting), Ashraful Islam (hockey), Shakil Ahmed (shooting), Saeed Al Jaber (volleyball), Mehedi Hasan Miraz (emerging cricketer), Krishna Rani Sarker (emerging sportswomen), Golam Rabbani Choton (football coach) and Bangladesh Navy (organization).

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness