Youtube Instagram
BSPA awards Riasad Azim as Best Sports Journalist of Bangladesh

by Rejwan uz Zaman, General Secretary Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA)

DHAKA, September 12, 2017 -The Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) organized another successful awards ceremony honouring the best sports journalists in the country. The second edition of Max-BSPA Night 2017 was held on September 9 at a local hotel in Dhaka. The event, started in 2016, was dedicated to sportswriters, journalists and other stakeholders coming together in a celebration of the coverage of sport.

At the program, the Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) awarded journalists for their work in 2016 under five different categories. The five awards are named after five legendary sports journalist of Bangladesh. All of them were member of the Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA). They are: Tawfiq Aziz Khan, Badi-uz Zaman, Atawul Haque Mollik, Abdul Hamid & Ranjit Biswas.

Noman Mohammad (Daily Kaler Kantho) was awarded the Atawul Haque Mollik trophy in best interview category while Sanjoy Saha Pial (Daily Samokal) and Masud Alam (Daily Prothom Alo) became runner up.

For best series reports, Masud Alam (Daily Prothom Alo) was awarded Abdul Hamid trophy while Bodiujjaman Milon (Daily Prothom Alo) and Rahenur Islam (Daily Kaler Kantho) became runners-up.

Riasad Azim (Channel 24) clinched best exclusive report category Badi-uz Zaman trophy while Faisal Titumir (Jamuna TV) and Rashedul Islam (Daily Samokal) became runners-up.

Evan Iqram (Channel 24) placed top in best feature or documentary category while SM Ashraf (ATN Bangla) and Masud Alam (Daily Prothom Alo) became runners-up.

For an overall performance in four categories, the Best Sports Journalist of the year 2016, the Tawfiq Aziz Khan Trophy was awarded to Riasad Azim (Channel 24), while Noman Mohammad (Daily Kaler Kantho) and Masud Alam (Daily Prothom Alo) became runners-up.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hasan Papon was the chief guest of the program and handed over the prizes while Chairman of the Max Group Engineer Ghulam Mohammad Alomgir was there as special guest.

BSPA also honored three senior and veteran sports writers of the country Obaidul Haque Khan, SB Chowdhury Shishir and Tohabin Haq in the program.

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness