Youtube Instagram
Shortlists announced for fifth-annual CONCACAF Awards

MIAMI, November 23, 2017 - The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced the shortlists and the opening of fan and media voting for the fifth-annual CONCACAF Awards, to honor the yearís standout performers and achievements from across Confederation events.

The awards, which began in 2013 and will be presented for the fifth time, recognize the top players, coaches and referees in womenís and menís events from the CONCACAF region.

Each of the award categories considers achievements per specific criteria, in CONCACAF-sanctioned tournaments and competitions involving the Confederationís national teams at all levels, including FIFA World Cups and World Cup Qualifying for both genders, in all age categories. Performances also eligible for recognition include those achieved in professional club football leagues in the CONCACAF region, as well as the CONCACAF Champions League and the CONCACAF League.

For more information on the nomination requirements click here.

This yearís award categories are:

- Player of the Year: Male and Female

- Goal of the Year: Male or Female (top 10 goals male and female mix)

- Menís Football Coach of the Year: Male or Female

- Womenís Football Coach of the Year: Male or Female

- Goalkeeper of the Year: Male and Female

- Referee of the Year: Male and Female

- Best XI: Male and Female

In each category, a list of nominees has already been determined through a statistical assessment and the nominations of the CONCACAF Technical Study Group, which analyzes tactics and rates performances at all official CONCACAF tournaments, and the Member Association National Team Head Coaches and Senior National Team Captains.

In addition to the categories above, CONCACAF will also recognize an individual, such as player, coach referee, or an other individual or group of individuals belonging to CONCACAF, such as club, Member Association, National Team with the Outstanding Performance Award (non-gender related). The Outstanding Performance Award will be excluded from the Nomination and Voting Processes, and will be selected by CONCACAF.

The lists have now been submitted for final voting among three important stake-holding segments of the Confederation: Member Association National Team Head Coaches and Senior National Team Captains, members of the media and fans. The national team coaches and captains from across the Confederation will account for one third of the final vote, and members of CONCACAFís media circle will contribute another third of the tally. Fans from around the region and the world are invited to vote online for the final one-third segment of the vote.

Fans can have their say by visiting the fan voting page on, available
here ( Media will be able cast their ballot via the dedicated link to be sent separately to media members on CONCACAFís distribution list.

Voting is open for all categories until 11:59 ET, Wednesday, December 13, 2017.

Final votes in each of the 11 categories will be tallied and the winners announced via The Male and Female CONCACAF Player of the Year Awards will also be presented live at the fourth edition of the Premios Univision Deportes, on Sunday, December 17 at 8:00 pm ET.

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness