Youtube Instagram
Moldovan sports journalists crown the Best of 2017

APSM President Eduard Ciobanu and Moldova's Best Athlete of 2017 Aaron Cook. (Photo: Serghei Donets)
by Natalia Donets, AIPS Member - Moldova

CHISINAU, December 21, 2017 – The Sports Press Association of the Republic of Moldova (APSM) organized the traditional yearly awards ceremony, honoring the athletes that have showcased the most remarkable results in 2017.

APSM President Eduard Ciobanu opened the event, held at the prestigious Mi Piace restaurant in Chisinau, with a review of this year’s major sporting achievements. Notably, President Ciobanu made good on his last year's promise to edit Moldova's only full-color sports magazine. The latest edition was presented to those in attendance.

Wrestler Mariana Cherdivara-Esanu was named the Best Female Athlete of the year. In May Mariana won the silver medal at the European Championship while (unknowingly) pregnant with her second child. The athlete, who is due to give birth within the next few weeks, came in to pick up her award in person. Her coach Constantin Cobilean was named the Best Coach of the year.

Aaron Cook (taekwondo WTF) picked up the Best Male Athlete trophy. In 2017, the athlete earned a bronze medal of the World Championship, as well as a silver and a bronze of the World Taekwondo Grand Prix series. Aaron’s brother Luke, who also serves as his coach, came in second in the Best Coach category.

Moldovan press also honored one more taekwondo representative. Petru Cataraga won the “Sports of Equal Possibilities” nomination. The athlete who competes in para-taekwondo currently is the 5th in the world rankings. This year he earned the silver medal of the IWAS World Games and the bronze of the European Championship.

Wrestler Daniel Cataraga, judokas Dorin Gotonoaga and Eugen Matveiciuc, as well as FC Sheriff Tiraspol, which became Moldova’s first ever football club to play in the group stages of the Europa League, earned the title of the Team of the Year.

President of the Taekwondo Federation Igor Iuzefovici, President of the Football Federation Pavel Cebanu as well as the President of the Fighting & Entertainment Association of Moldova Dorin Damir were honored with the Personality of the Year awards.

During the Gala, some of the most prominent personalities of the Moldovan sports press community received the Governmental Diplomas. Vadim Caftanat, Radu Galbur, Ion Buga and Victor Orehov received first grade honors, while Iulian Bogatu and Dumitru Ciolacu received the second grade distinctions. Fifteen more, as well as sports media veterans also received special distinctions.

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness