Youtube Instagram
Best of 2017: Jose Altuve and Yulimar Rojas, athletes of the year in Venezuela

by Luis Vargas CDP President

CARACAS, December 26, 2017 - Houston Astros baseman Jos Altuve and track and field athlete Yulimar Rojas won the athletes of the year award for a second year running following a vote by the Venezuelan Sports Journalists Circle - CPD.

In the other categories, Rafael Dudamel and his U-20 football team were chosen as coach and team of the year respectively. Basketball club Guaros de Lara were yet again the professional team of the year and Ludy Correa won the plaudits as the standout Paralympic athlete.

Altuve triumphed in the individual mens award, winning 100% of the votes, to cap an extraordinary year after a memorable season in the Major League Baseball with the Houston Astros. He was again the batting champion in the league and won the prize of Most Valuable Player in the MLB. His remarkable achievements and great season didnt go unnoticed, picking up the Sports Illustrated Personality of the Year and Player of the Year in the Players Choice Award, Sporting News and Baseball America.

Rojas, meanwhile, will forever be remembered as the first Venezuelan to win a gold medal at the IAAF World Championships, demonstrating her triple jump prowess. She was the youngest ever triple jump gold medallist in World Championships history. As a result, she won the IAAF Award of Female Rising Star. Athletics racked up the awards organised by CPD with the Venezuelan Athletics Federation, FVA, winning in the category sports entity of the year and its president Wilfredys Len receiving the leader of the year award.

Football didnt miss out. Rafael Dudamel won coach of the year for guiding his Venezuelan youngsters to the final of the U-20 FIFA World Cup in South Korea. 'La Vinotinto were defeated in the final by England 1-0, but their remarkable campaign and silver medal were enough to triumph as team of the year.

A hundred and ten sports journalists voted in the awards organised by CPD. The award was first organised in 1944. This years vote marked the 74th edition of the awards.


1944 - 2016

2016 Jos Altuve (Baseball) | Yulimar Rojas (Athletics)

2015 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Stefany Hernndez (BMX)

2014 Jos Altuve (Baseball) | Andrena Pinto (Swimming)

2013 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Robeilys Hairstyle (Athletics)

2012 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Rubn Limardo (Fencing)

2011 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Daniela Larreal (Cycling)

2010 Felix Hernndez Baseball) | Greivis Vsquez (Basketball)

2009 Felix Hernandez (Baseball) | Albert Subirats (Swimming)

2008 Francisco Rodrguez (Baseball) | Dalia Contreras (Taekwondo)

2007 Magglio Ordez (Baseball) | Albert Subirats (Swimming)

2006 John Santana (Baseball) | Albert Subirats (Swimming)

2005 Jos Rujano (Cycling) | Carlos Coste (Apnea)

2004 John Santana (Baseball) | Adriana Carmona (Taekwondo)

2003 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Ricardo Monasterio (Swimming)

2002 Magglio Ordez (Baseball) | Gretty Lugo (Powerlifting)

2001 Freddy Garca (Baseball) | Ernardo Gmez (Volleyball)

2000 Leo Gmez (Boxing) | Jerimar Gutirrez (Fencing)

1999 Edgardo Alfonzo (Baseball) | Gilberto Gonzlez (Triathlon)

1998 Andrs Galarraga (Baseball) | Gilberto Gonzlez (Triathlon)

1997 Andrs Galarraga (Baseball)

1996 Andrs Galarraga (Baseball)

1995 Francisco Snchez (Swimming)

1994 Eloy Rojas (Boxing)

1993 Andrs Galarraga (Baseball)

1992 Omar Vizquel (Baseball)

1991 Wilson lvarez (Baseball)

1990 Leonardo Sierra (Cycling)

1989 Luis Salazar (Baseball)

1988 Andrs Galarraga (Baseball)

1987 Andrs Galarraga (Baseball)

1986 Carlos Lavado (Motorcycling)

1985 Oswaldo Guilln (Baseball)

1984 Antonio Armas (Baseball)

1983 Carlos Lavado (Motorcycling)

1982 Alberto Mestre (Swimming)

1981 Antonio Armas (Baseball)

1980 Antonio Armas (Baseball)

1979 Marlin Noriega (Tennis)

1978 Betulio Gonzlez (Boxing)

1977 Luis "Lumumba" Was (Boxing)

1976 Pedro Gamarro (Boxing)

1975 Jhonny Cecotto (Motorcycling)

1974 David Concepcin (Baseball)

1973 Betulio Gonzlez (Boxing) | Mara Carrasco (Water Skiing)

1972 Gerardo Vera (Swimming)

1971 Vicente Pal Rondn (Boxing)

1970 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1969 Ramn Muoz (Golf)

1968 Francisco "Morochito" Rodrguez (Boxing)

1967 Gisela Vidal (Athletics)

1966 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1965 Gisela Vidal (Athletics)

1964 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1963 Arqumedes Herrera (Athletics)

1962 Rafael Romero (Athletics)

1961 Carlos Plaza (Shooting)

1960 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1959 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1958 Enrique Tovar (Boxing)

1957 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1956 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1955 Antonio De Michelli (Cycling)

1954 Brgido Iriarte (Athletics)

1953 Alfonso Chico Carrasquel (Baseball)

1952 Asnoldo Devonish (Athletics)

1951 Alfonso Chico Carrasquel (Baseball)

1950 Jos Alberto Daz (Boxing)

1949 Alfonso Chico Carrasquel (Baseball)

1948 Vidal Lpez (Baseball)

1947 Jos Alberto Daz (Boxing)

1946 Antonio Briez (Baseball)

1945 Vctor Paticas Fernndez (Cycling)

1944 Antonio Briez (Baseball)

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness