Youtube Instagram
June 2, 2009
Photographer wins SMA Sports Journalist of the Year award

IN THE RIGHT PLACE AT THE RIGHT TIME: Robert Jäger's winning photo. Photo/APA/Robert Jäger
by Josef Langer

SMA General Secretary

VIENNA, June 2, 2009 - A photo taken in January at the Alpine Ski World Cup Downhill race in Kitzbühel (Austria) has won the Austrian Sports Journalists Award. Photographer Robert Jäger from the Austrian Press Agency APA was there at the right moment of the terrible crash of Swiss racer Daniel Albrecht at the last jump shortly before the finish line.

This photo not only won the Photo of the Year category but also the main award of Sports Media Austria’s annual contest (presented by partner Coca-Cola), which carries a cash prize of 2000 Euro. Jäger who took the main victory from four other category winners (Print, Photo, TV and Radio, Internet) said: “If Daniel Albrecht would have died or been permanently disabled, I wouldn’t have entered this photo in the competition. But we all are happy that months after the crash Daniel is in good shape and will come back to the Ski World Cup next season.”

The photographer was honoured at the annual Sports Media Austria Congress which was held in the Carinthian ski resort of Bad Kleinkirchheim, which is bidding along with Slovenia (Kranjska Gora) and Italy (Tarvisio) for the Alpine Ski World Championships 2017. One of the most popular Austrian sportsmen ever, Olympic Gold medallist in downhill racing, Franz Klammer, comes from the Carinthian region and together with Slovenia’s former Ski Star Jure Kosir wants to promote this candidacy world wide.

President Kuhn re-elected

A new SMA Executive Committee was elected at the congress with President Michael Kuhn to head the association for another four-year term. “Now I am 71 years of age, this will be my last period as president,” he told the group.

New Executive Committeee

President: Michael Kuhn

1st Vice-president: Elmar Oberhauiser

2nd Vice-president: Roland Knöppel

3rd Vice-president: Stefan Grüneis

Treasurer: Norbert Wallauch

Deputy Treasurer: Günter Pfeistlinger

General Secretary: Josef Langer

Deputy General secretary: Karin Klein

Members: Kristian Bissuti, Ossi Felber, Rainer Fleckl, Hans Huber, Michael Schuen, Robert Seeger, Franz Simonic, Michael Smejkal, Fred Steinacher, Wolfgang Winheim, Christoph Zöpfl

Finance control: Rouven Ertlschweiger, Ronald Gollatz, Hubert Potyka.

Below: SMA's new Executive Committee

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness