logo 90 anni
aipsmedia appstore ipad
aipsmedia appstore android
National Associations
Continental Sections
Sport World News
Press Releases
Beijing Olympics 2008
RIO 2016
Guangzhou Asian Games 2010
Olympic Council of Asia
International Olympic Committee
Vancouver Winter Olympics 2010
Sochi Winter Olympics 2014
QATAR 2022
AIPS Congress Antalya 2010
2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa
Daegu World Championships in Athletics 2011
Universiade Shenzhen 2011
PyeongChang 2018
AIPS Congress Seoul
Universiade Shenzhen 2011
Korean Air
YOG 2012 Innsbruck
Universiade Gwangju 2015
Professional Development
AIPS 75th Anniversary Congress Innsbruck
Procter & Gamble
Commonwealth Games Federation
Rio de Janeiro 2016
Brazil 2014
FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, Azerbaijan
AIPS Congress Sochi 2013
Tokyo 2020
United World Wrestling
2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup, UAE
Baku 2015 European Games
UEFA U21 Czech Republic
Executive Committee
Continental Sections
National Associations
President Board Advisor
Honorary Members
The History of Aips
AIPS code of professional conduct standards
Executive Committee & Bureau Meetings
AIPS Commissions Meetings
Past Officials
ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012
2008 - 2009 CONCACAF Champions League
2009 International Sporting Events (I)
2009 International Sporting Events (II)
International Cricket Council 2009 Schedule
FIFA Calendar 2009
IOC Calendar 2009
2010 International Sporting Events
2010-2014 FIS Calendar of Events
2010 IHF Calendar
ICF major events 2010
World Sports Calendar 2011
International Amateur Sambo Federation (FIAS) Calendar 2010 - 2013
FIAS Sport Calendar-2015
Bookmark and Share
Seeking nominations for World Fair Play Awards
Croatia's 49er Olympic representatives Pavle KOSTOV and Petar CUPAC and their coach Ivan BULAJA were awarded the 2008 Pierre de Coubertin International Trophy for Fair Play. KOSTOV and CUPAC failed to qualify for the Medal Race of the 49er competition, but upon receiving a phone call informing them that the Danish crew of Joas WARRER and Martin Kirketerp IBSEN had snapped their mast shortly before the start, agreed to lend their boat – worth thousands of Euros – to the Danes. The young Croatians rigged their dinghy ready for action and consequently, the Danish team were able to compete in the 49er Medal Race and went on to sail the Croatian boat to seventh place, good enough to secure them the Olympic gold medal. KOSTOV, CUPAC and BULAJA were nominated for the award by the Croatian Olympic Committee and the Danish crew. They are pictured on Day 2 of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games on August 10, 2008 in Qingdao. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

LAUSANNE, September 1, 2009 - AIPS and the International Committee for Fair Play Committee (CIFP) will collaborate in identifying nominees for the next edition of the World Fair Play Awards.

CIFP was established in 1963 under the auspices of UNESCO and AIPS who was represented at the time by Jacques Ferran of L'Equipe. The oganisation is chaired by former world fencing champion and Olympic medallist Dr Jeno Kamuti (Hungary) and respenting AIPS on the CIFP Council are president Gianni Merlo (Italy) and Vice-President Nickolai Dolgopolov (Russia).

The first IFPC award was given to Italian Eugenio Monti in 1965 for having given a spare part from his own bobseligh to British competitor Tony Nash at the 1964 Innsbruck Winter Games. The act of generosity enabled Nash to overtake the Italian and win the Two Man Bobsleigh gold medal.

Since 1965 awards have been presented in the following categories:

1. Pierre de Coubertin World Fair Play Trophy - Awarded to an athlete, or a team, for a gesture of fair play that cost, or could have cost them victory, or could have had a negative effect on their results;

2. Jean Borotra World Fair Play Trophy - Awarded to a person for their exemplary attitude showed all along their sport career, for an outstanding and constant spirit of fair play, for observing the unwritten rules of sport, and never to take advantage of an opponent's bad luck;

3. Willi Daume World Fair Play Trophy - Awarded to a person or organisation for an activity aiming at promoting fair play by organizing national or local campaigns, giving lectures, writing articles in the press, or making comments on the radio or television.

To widen the pool of nominees for the Jury and to bring the award "closer to the realities of today's sporting life" the CIPF has sought the assistance of AIPS members who are asked to propose candidate in any of all three of the categories. 

How to nominate

If you are an AIPS member who has witnessed an act of fair play or know of someone truly deserving of an award for their life-long fair play attitude on and off the sporting field please download the attached form and return to AIPS Headquarters with your AIPS card number.

Nominations must be received via fax or email (details on form) by October 31, 2009.




Video GalleryView all
Continental Sections 
aips asia
aips america
aips europe
Flash Sport World NewsView all
Pedro to Manchester United: Transfer news live - Angel Di Maria to PSG, David De Gea to Real Madrid, Mario Balotelli and Arsenal latest
31/7/15 10:52 - The Independent
Samp, vertice nella notte Per Zenga 7 giorni di tregua
31/7/15 10:45 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Community Shield 2015: Why winning would give Chelsea or Arsenal an early edge in Premier League title race
31/7/15 10:29 - Telegraph
Torresmanía en Japón
31/7/15 10:26 - Marca
Osvaldo riparte dal Porto Rumors sui giornali stranieri
31/7/15 10:16 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
BVB-Sieg in der Europa League: Woran Tuchel noch arbeiten muss
31/7/15 10:15 - Süddeutsche
JO d'hiver 2022 : dernière chance de convaincre pour Pékin et Almaty
31/7/15 10:11 - Le Monde
John Stones transfer latest: Manchester United interest could bump Chelsea bid up to £34m as Everton hold out for asking price
31/7/15 10:11 - The Independent
Derby Seppi-Bolelli ad Amburgo, c'è pure Fognini
31/7/15 10:11 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
David De Gea to Real Madrid: Manchester United still undecided over goalkeeper's future before start of Premier League season
31/7/15 10:07 - The Independent
Arsenal news and transfer rumours: Gunners starlet Joel Campbell to seal Palermo switch?
31/7/15 10:03 - Daily Mirror
Malesia, fulmine Biaggi Domina le prime libere
31/7/15 10:02 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
A La Réunion, le piton de la Fournaise est entré en éruption
31/7/15 09:55 - Le Monde
Gasol: "Bulls, ora o mai più Temo Warriors e... Francia"
31/7/15 09:55 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Europa-League-Qualifikation: Spielabbruch nach Steinwurf
31/7/15 09:45 - Süddeutsche
Liverpool news and transfer rumours: Real Madrid 'ready to sell Asier Illarramendi to Reds'
31/7/15 09:42 - Daily Mirror
La Juve riprova per Benatia Gli affari sui giornali italiani
31/7/15 09:41 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Mister Bee spalle al muro Il Milan attende i 500 milioni
31/7/15 09:41 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
Rio 2016 to hire 85,000 security staff
31/7/15 09:27 - BBC Sport
Cagnotto torna dai 3 metri "L'oro già vinto mi aiuterà"
31/7/15 09:25 - La Gazzetta dello Sport
The Ethics 'Iron Lady' of the Olympics

Read more
AIPS Partners 
International Olympic Committe
Fédération Internationale de Football Association
International Association of Athletics Federations
Federation Internationale de Natation
International Basketball Federation
International Ski Federation
Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
Federation International Amateur de Sambo
United World Wrestling
International Handball Federation
European Handball Federation
Copyright 2008 AIPS MEDIA | Privacy PolicyWeb Design: Studio Colore