Youtube Instagram
January 31, 2011
Andy Schleck re-elected athlete of the year while Marie Muller dethrones Liz May

LUXEMBOURG'S No 1 Andy Schleck of Luxembourg and the Saxo Bank team retained his white jersey on stage nineteen, a 52km individual time trial from Bordeaux to Pauillac, on July 24, 2010 in Pauillac, France. (Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)
by Petz Lahure, President
@font-face { "Cambria Math"; }@font-face { "Calibri"; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0cm 0cm 10pt; line-height: 115%; }.MsoChpDefault { }div.WordSection1 { page: WordSection1; }

LUXEMBOURG, January 31, 2011 - Andy Schleck was once again voted athlete of the year by the members of (Association Luxembourgeoise de la Presse Sportive).

It was a real landslide victory for this year’s runner up in the Tour de France who came out ahead of his brother Frank in the polls, followed by swimmer Laurent Carnol, triathlon specialist Dirk Bockel and swimmer Raphaël Stacchiotti.

In the absence of Andy who, along with his brother Frank and the other member of Luxembourg’s new professional cycling team were away at a training course at Crans-Montana (Wallis/Switzerland), the cyclist’s parents, Gaby and John Schleck, received the trophy from the hands of sponsor Yves Biewer (Dexia).

On the ladies’ side, judoka Marie Muller took away her second trophy, while the handball players from Esch-sur-Alzette were first time winners of the team trophy.

As Marie Muller was taking part in a competition in far away Japan and China, her father Charles was handed the trophy by sponsor Gilbert Wolter (Foyer), while Christian Bock, the captain of the Esch Handball team, was rewarded by Marc Galli of Intersport.

The gala celebration, presented by Dan Spogen and Petz Lahure, took place in the presence of a capacity audience at the main auditorium of Casino 2000 at Mondorf-les-Bains (Luxembourg), in the presence of (among others) Ministers Romain Schneider and Jean-Marie Halsdorf, as well as the President of Luxembourg’s Chamber of Deputies, Laurent Mosar.

The final results

Trophy for best male athlete of the year

1. Andy Schleck (cycling) 477 points

2. Frank Schleck (cycling) 247

3. Laurent Carnol (swimming) 182

4. Dirk Bockel (triathlon) 121

5. Raphaël Stacchiotti (swimming) 100

6. Gilles Muller (tennis) 14

6. Mario Mutsch (football/soccer) 14

8. Samy Picard (basketball) 10

9. Sascha Palgen (gymnastics) 9

10. Jeff Henckels (bow and arrow) 4

Trophy for best female athlete of the year

1. Marie Muller (judo) 378 points

2. Mandy Minella (tennis) 353

3. Ni Xia Lian (table tennis) 212

4. Liz May (triathlon) 173

Challenge for best team of the year

1. Handball Esch 437 points

2. Tennis Federation Cup Team 282

3. Ladies’ national table tennis team 230

4. Men’s national volleyball team167

Prize for best upcoming athlete

Bob Jungels (cycling)

Sarah Rolko (swimming)

Special prize awarded by

International Women’s Tennis Promotion (IWTP)

Association des Organisateurs du Tour de Luxembourg (AOTDL)

English translation by Jean-Pierre Thilges/Hatari Publishing

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness