Youtube Instagram
November 6, 2012
CARROM :Sri Lanka's Nishantha Fernando crown as World Carrom Champion

by Hishan Welmilla Editor in Chief

COLOMBO, November 6, 2012 - Sri Lanka’s Nishantha Fernando clinched the World carrom singles title beating India's Bharathidasan 25/4, 25/10 in the final of the sixth Carrom World Championship concluded at the Galadari hotel, Colombo Sri Lanka yesterday( November 4)

.He created history by becoming the second individual sports World Champion Sri Lanka has ever produced in the history of Sri Lanka sports.

Nishantha who is the reigning national champion of Sri Lanka maintained a superb record through out the tournament and booked his final berth by defeating Indian number three K Srinivas 25/18, 25/23 in the semi-final while Bharathidasan beat reigning World Champion Yogesh Paradeshi 25/24, 25/4 in the other semi-final.

It was surprise to see that India who has been winning the men's singles title continuously since the inauguration of Carrom World Championship in 1991 could not make it this time.

But Indians clinched the highest number of titles by winning women's singles, doubles and both men's and women's team event titles

Sri Lankan women slicers shown a good improvement since the last World Championship in France, 2008 as Yashika Rahubadda and Madushika Kanchanamala emerged runner-up in the women's doubles event while Yashika, Madushika, Joseph Roshita and Chalani Lakmali partnered the women's team event second place as well.

Local men's players did not able to defend their team championship title and had to satisfied with the second place as they were defeated by strong Indians in the final.

The five-day Championship saw all the elite international slicers from 18 countries in action.

Final Results -

Men's single- Champion - Nishantha Fernando (SL), runner-up - Bharathidasan (IND)

Women's single - Champion - Rashmi Kumari (IND), runner-up - I Illabazhaki (IND)

Men's doubles - Champion - Yogesh Paradeshi and Pragash Gaikwad (IND), runner-up - K. Srinivas and Bharathidasan (IND)

Women's doubles - Champion - I. Illabazhaki and Rashmi Kumari (IND), runner-up - Yashika Rahubadda and Madushika Kanchanamala

Men's team event - Champions - India (Yogesh Paradesi, PrakGaikwad, K. Srinivas, Bharathidasan), runner-up - Sri Lanka ( Nishantha Fernando, Chamil Cooray, M. Sheriffdeen, Dimal Senaratne)

Women's team event - Champion - India ( Rashmi Kumari, I. Illabazhaki, K. Somanchi, Paramila Devi), runner-up - Sri Lanka (Joseph Roshita,Yashika Rahubadda, Madushika Kamchanamala and Chalani Lakmali)

Swiss League - 1. Prakash Gaikwad (IND) , 2. Nishantha Fernando (SL), 3. Yogesh Paradeshi (IND), 4. K.Srinivas (IND), 5. Chamil Cooray (SL)

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness