Youtube Instagram
January 3, 2013
Djokovic and Ennis top AIPS Europe Athletes of the Year 2012 poll

GOLDEN GIRL Jessica Ennis of Great Britain celebrates winning gold in the Women's Heptathlon on Day 8 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at Olympic Stadium on August 4, 2012 in London, England. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)
by Charles Camenzuli, AIPS Europe Secretary General

MALTA , January 3, 2013 For the second year running, 25-year-old tennis ace NOVAK DJOKOVIC and for the first time in her career British athlete JESSICA ENNIS are the winners in the 2012 Edition of the European Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards .

It was the 30th annual poll conducted by AIPS Europe/UEPS. Formerly the European Sports Press Union, AIPS Europe is the largest continental section of AIPS and was established in 1977 at the AIPS Congress in Milano Marittima.

Since 2003, the annual poll has been named the Frank Taylor Trophy in honour of the former president of both AIPS and UEPS.

Serbian NOVAK DJOKOVIC, already a winner of the coveted award in 2011, accumulated 39 votes, ten more than British double Olympic winner Mo Farah. In third place with 28 votes finished Formula 1 Championship winner Sebastian Vettel.

The women's award for the Evgen Bergant Trophy was won by 26-year-old British Olympic heptathlon winner JESSICA ENNIS. With 62 votes to her credit, Ennis polled ahead of Norwegian cross country skier, Marit Bjoergen who received 23 votes, and tennis player Viktoria Azarenka from Belarus with 17 votes.

In both categories there was a total of 10 finalists .


MEN - Frank Taylor Trophy

2012 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis

2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis

2010 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2009 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis

2008 Rafael Nadal (Spain) Tennis

2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis

2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis

2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis

2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis

2003 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2002 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2001 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2000 Pieter van Hoogenband (Netherland) Swimming

1999 Tomas Dvorak (Czech Republic) Athletics

1998 Bjoern Daehlie (Norway) Cross country skiing

1997 Wilson Kipketer (Denmark) Athletics

1996 Alexander Popov (Russia) Swimming

1995 Jonathan Edwards (Great Britain) Athletics

1994 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

1993 Linford Christie (Great Britain) Athletics

1992 Vitaly Scherbo (Commonwealth of the Independent States)

1991 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) Athletics

1990 Lothar Matthaeus (Germany) Football

1989 Boris Becker (Germany) Tennis

1988 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) Athletics

1987 Stephen Roche (Ireland) Cycling

1986 Boris Becker (Germany) Tennis

1985 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) Athletics

1984 Michel Platini (France) Football

1983 Michael Gross (Germany) Swimming

WOMEN - Evgen Bergant Trophy

2012 Jessica Ennis (Great Britain) Athletics

2011 Federica Pellegrini (Italy) Swimming

2010 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia) Athletics

2009 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia) Athletics

2008 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) Athletics

2007 Justine Henin (Belgium) Tennis

2006 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) Tennis

2005 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) Athletics

2004 Kelly Holmes (Great Britain) Athletics

2003 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) Tennis

2002 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) Tennis

2001 Svetlana Khorkina (Russia) Gymnastics

2000 Inge de Bruijn (Netherland) Swimming

1999 Gabriela Szabo (Romania) Athletics

1998 Larissa Lazutina (Russia) Cross-country skiing

1997 Martina Hingis (Switzerland) Tennis

1996 Svetlana Masterkova (Russia) Athletics

1995 Steffi Graf (Germany) Tennis

1994 Manuela Di Centa (Italy) Cross-country skiing

1993 Franziska van Almsick (Germany) Swimming

1992 Krisztina Egerszegi (Hungary) Swimming

1991 Monica Seles (Yugoslavia) Tennis

1990 Katrin Krabbe (Germany) Athletics

1989 Steffi Graf (Germany) Tennis

1988 Kristin Otto (GDR) Swimming

1987 Steffi Graf (Germany) Tennis

1986 Heike Drechsler (GDR) Athletics

1985 Marita Koch (GDR) Athletics

1984 Marja-Liisa Kirvesniemi (Finland) Cross-country skiing

1983 Jarmila Kratochvilova (Czechoslovakia) Athletics

News from the same category
Video Gallery

  • Video News
  • AIPS Partners
  • IOC
    International Olympic Committee
    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
    International Association of Athletics Federations
    Federation Internationale de Natation
    International Basketball Federation
    International Ski Federation
    Fédération Internationale de Gymnastique
    Federation Internationale du Sport Universitaire
    FIAS / International SAMBO Federation / Federation International de SAMBO
    United World Wrestling
    International Judo Federation
    European Handball Federation
    International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness